Im back

After a several month hiatus from WordPress…not intentionally I am officially back! I have been working my bottom off at Vogel Alcove and proving myself to be worthy of full time and all my hard work has finally paid off! As of today I am a full time employee! I have taken on many random task over the past several months and cant wait to work even more! Not many people can say that on a Monday morning they are excited to be going to work…I can. Instead of writing out a long blog about everything that has happened over the last months I will highlight some of the important stuff.

  • End of the year holidays were fantastic!
  • Jason and I celebrated our 9 year anniversary on 01/29
  • We celebrated Jason’s birthday on 2/18
  • In April our Non-Profit moved from a very small location that we had been at for 15 years to our new facility which was an old 3 story elementary school in DISD. Dallas Morning News Story
  • Jason bought me a Samsung NX300 camera for my birthday which we celebrated on 5/18 (over $1000 worth of camera, lenses, bag etc and we got it for $250! Was only used a couple of weeks by a photography student)
  • I have officially become the Vogel Alcove Photographer, taking photos of all the volunteers that come to visit, field trips, special events and birthdays!
  • I have continued to struggle with my health and weight. Started a new healthy eating plan with a daily food diary and work out routine yesterday. I actually have Jason on board with me! Wish us luck!

I promise to post at least once a week from now on! I will leave you with a recipe I threw together from dinner last night. Enjoy!

Veggie Explosion:

Ingredients:

  • 6 cups fresh Kale
  • 2 cups frozen Butternut Squash cubed
  • 1/2 bag of frozen corn Corn
  • 1 can of Chickpeas drained
  • coconut oil
  • red chili pepper flakes
  • salt and pepper
  • avocado

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 450
  • Toss the chickpeas and squash with some melted coconut oil (just enough to lightly coat) and sprinkle with salt, pepper and chili flakes.
  • Spread out the mixture on a cookie sheet and back for about 25 min or longer if you desire more crispy veggies.
  • In a large pot add couple tsp coconut oil and the corn.
  • Fry lightly for a few minutes then toss in the kale.
  • Cook for about 5 min tossing often so that the kale does not start to burn.
  • Peel and dice one large avocado.
  • Once everything is done place ALL ingredients into a large bowl and toss it gently so that you do not mash the avocado.
  • Serve and ENJOY

10408521_10203051008809532_1131271581046075061_n 10502149_10203051009369546_6115278652842666861_n

 

Leave a Reply

